Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

100 years of Bauhaus

Casting moulds and results Workshop Museum Dornburg

18 February 2019, Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V.

In 2019, Germany and partners around the world will celebrate the 100th anniversary of the founding of the Bauhaus as one of the most important cultural achievements of the 20th century.

100 years Bauhaus - Traces in Saale-Unstrut on the occasion of the anniversary

Within the framework of the anniversary programme 100 years of Bauhaus Under the motto "Rethinking the World", the Bauhaus Association, together with regional, national and international partners, invites people to rediscover the historical testimonies of the Bauhaus - as well as its significance for the present and the future.
Founded in Weimar in 1919, moved to Dessau in 1925 and finally closed in Berlin in 1933 under pressure from the National Socialists, the Hochschule für Gestaltung only existed for a full 14 years. Nevertheless, the Bauhaus continues to have an impact worldwide to the present day. In the meantime, the term has come to characterise an entire design style.

But even in the Saale-Unstrut region the influences are still noticeable after 100 years since the founding of the Bauhaus. We would like to introduce you to some of the institutions that make Bauhaus architecture tangible at first hand.

Old settlement in Bad Dürrenberg

A testimony to the history of housing construction worthy of preservation is in Bad Dürrenberg to find. Here you will quickly find what you are looking for when searching for historical buildings. It is the "old settlement" with the pergola houses on Thomas-Müntzer-Straße, the small rows of terraced houses and the residential buildings with living room windows across the corner.
In 1929 the architect Alexander Klein and the garden architect Harry Maasz were commissioned by the then existing non-profit housing association of the Merseburg district to build a housing estate on a site at the Dürrenberg stop and thus close to the expanding Leuna works. The architects planned the housing estate as a "garden city" and tried to build apartments for different family situations and budgets, which corresponded to the latest scientific and technical knowledge. The approximately 500 apartments were equipped with work kitchens, bathrooms, living rooms with terrace and balcony as well as bedrooms.
There are many details in the settlement that remind us of the 1920s, such as unusual window formats, the lamps, railings, front doors and the bicycle stands.
The settlement of Alexander Klein is under monumental protection.
There is still an apartment that has been preserved in its original state. The almost 42 m² museum apartment shows the smallest type of apartment in the settlement and was inhabited by industrial workers. Visits are possible by appointment on 03462 99920 or www.leuwo.de possible. Further information on guided tours is available at the Tourist Information Bad Dürrenberg.

Discover Zollinger in Merseburg

2019 is Friedrich Zollinger Year - Merseburg's roof of modernity. The special treasure is the former master builder of the city. He stands for applied modernism like no other on site. Zollinger succeeded in almost doubling the housing stock in just twelve years. His credo: to meet the demands of the modern working world and at the same time combine factory work, living, self-sufficiency, culture and the experience of nature. This is as relevant today as it was 100 years ago. With the Zollinger Year, the focus is therefore primarily on the topic of housing construction and living 100 years ago.
The City of Merseburg therefore offers a selection of events and other exciting cultural treasure activities. At Cultural History Museum Merseburg Castle there will be a special exhibition "The roof of modernity - Zollbau Merseburg, construction and worldwide distribution" from 31 August to 27 October 2019. It will illustrate Merseburg residential construction between 1918 and 1930 as well as other international examples of Zollbau. It reflects the competition with the Junkers-Werke Dessau, which implemented Zollinger's construction principles in steel from 1924.
Furthermore, the special exhibition "Merseburg in the Weimar Republic" (1919 - 1933) - "From Prussian Government Centre to Industrial and Workers' City" from 31 August 2019 to 9 February 2020 invites visitors to get to know the transformation of the official city into an industrial and workers' city and the transformation of the surrounding area from agricultural to industrial land use.
In addition, public guided tours of the Zollinger Quarter and individual group tours of the Museum Schloss Merseburg are available.

 

Bauhaus Workshop Museum Dornburg awakens

The only Bauhaus pottery workshop, which is the sole external workshop of the Weimar Bauhaus and thus the last Bauhaus workshop to have survived at all, opens its doors in April 2019, allowing visitors to experience the impressive work and life of the Bauhaus teachers and their students at first hand even after 100 years.
Original tools, such as a plaster turntable, on which Bogler and Lindig created their design-defining models, offer a unique insight into the work of the Bauhaus Workshops. Furthermore, the pottery in the Dornburg stables will be illuminated and Bauhaus ceramics will be presented.

Bauhaus wine

In honor of the anniversary, the Winegrowers' Association Freyburg eG brought out an extra edition - the work Weimar. The vines for the two wines Sauvignon Blanc and Dornfelder Rosé grow on the Weimar Poetenweg. The latest edition celebrates its premiere at the ITB. There the wines will be served in the wine lounge at the stand of Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V.

In addition, events and programmes can be found on the official website for 100 years of Bauhaus at www.bauhaus100.de

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing

What would you like
do next?

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

100 Jahre Bauhaus

Giessformen und Ergebnisse Werkstatt Museum Dornburg

18. Februar 2019, Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V.

2019 begeht Deutschland mit Partnern in aller Welt den 100. Jahrestag der Gründung des Bauhauses als einer der bedeutendsten kulturellen Errungenschaften des 20. Jahrhunderts.

100 Jahre Bauhaus – Spuren in Saale-Unstrut zum Jubiläum

Im Rahmen des Jubiläumsprogramms 100 Jahre Bauhaus lädt der Bauhaus Verbund unter dem Motto „Die Welt neu denken“ gemeinsam mit regionalen, nationalen und internationalen Partnern dazu ein, die historischen Zeugnisse des Bauhauses neu zu entdecken – ebenso wie seine Bedeutung für die Gegenwart und Zukunft.
1919 in Weimar gegründet, 1925 nach Dessau umgezogen und schließlich 1933 in Berlin unter dem Druck der Nationalsozialisten geschlossen, bestand die Hochschule für Gestaltung nur ganze 14 Jahre lang. Dennoch wirkt das Bauhaus weltweit bis in die Gegenwart fort. Mittlerweile prägt der Begriff einen gesamten Design-Stil.

Aber auch in der Saale-Unstrut Region sind die Einflüsse sogar noch nach 100 Jahren seit der Gründung des Bauhauses spürbar. Wir möchten Ihnen einige Einrichtungen vorstellen, die die Bauhaus-Architektur hautnah erlebbar machen.

Alte Siedlung in Bad Dürrenberg

Ein denkmalwürdiges Zeugnis der Wohnungsbaugeschichte ist in Bad Dürrenberg zu finden. Hier wird man bei der Suche nach historischen Bauwerken schnell fündig. Es ist die “Alte Siedlung” mit den Laubenganghäusern an der Thomas-Müntzer-Straße, den kleinen Reihenhauszeilen und den Wohngebäuden mit Wohnzimmerfenstern über’s Eck.
Der Architekt Alexander Klein und der Gartenarchitekt Harry Maasz erhielten 1929 von der damals existierenden gemeinnützigen Siedlungsgesellschaft des Landkreis Merseburg den Auftrag zum Bau einer Wohnsiedlung auf einem Gelände am Haltepunkt Dürrenberg und damit in der Nähe der expandierenden Leuna-Werke. Die Architekten planten die Siedlung als “Gartenstadt” und versuchten für verschiedene Familiensituationen und Budgets Wohnungen zu errichten, die den neuesten wissenschaftlichen und technischen Erkenntnissen entsprachen. Die ca. 500 Wohnungen erhielten Arbeitsküchen, Bäder, Wohnzimmer mit Terrasse und Balkon sowie Schlafzimmer.
In der Siedlung finden sich viele Details, die an die 1920er Jahre erinnern, wie ungewöhnliche Fensterformate, die Lampen, Geländer, Haustüren und die Fahrradständer.
Die Siedlung von Alexander Klein steht unter Denkmalschutz.
Es gibt noch immer eine Wohnung, die im Originalzustand erhalten wurde. Die knapp 42 m² große Museumswohnung zeigt den kleinsten Wohnungstyp der Siedlung und wurde von Industriearbeitern bewohnt. Besichtigung sind nach Voranmeldung unter 03462 99920 oder www.leuwo.de möglich. Weitere Informationen zu Führungen gibt es in der Tourist-Information Bad Dürrenberg.

Zollinger entdecken in Merseburg

2019 ist Friedrich Zollinger Jahr – Merseburgs Dach der Moderne. Der besondere Schatz ist der ehemalige Stadtbaumeister. Er steht für die Angewandte Moderne wie kein anderer vor Ort . Zollinger gelang es in nur zwölf Jahren Amtszeit, den Wohnungsbestand fast zu verdoppeln. Sein Credo: den Ansprüchen der modernen Arbeitswelt gerecht werden und dabei Fabrikarbeit, Wohnen, Selbstversorgung, Kultur sowie Naturerleben verbinden. Das ist heute so aktuell wie vor 100 Jahren. Mit dem Zollinger-Jahr wird daher der Blick vor allem auf das Thema Wohnungsbau und Wohnen vor 100 Jahren gelenkt.
Die Stadt Merseburg hält daher eine Auswahl an Veranstaltungen und weitere spannende Kulturschatz-Aktivitäten bereit. Im Kulturhistorischen Museum Schloss Merseburg wird es vom 31. August bis 27. Oktober 2019 eine Sonderausstellung „Das Dach der Moderne – Zollbau Merseburg, Konstruktion und weltweite Verbreitung“ geben. Sie verdeutlicht den Merseburger Wohnungsbau zwischen 1918 und 1930 sowie weitere internationale Beispiele des Zollbaus. Gespiegelt wird die Konkurrenz zu den Junkers-Werken Dessau, die ab 1924 die Konstruktionsprinzipien Zollingers in Stahl umsetzten.
Weiterhin lädt die Sonderausstellung „Merseburg in der Weimarer Republik“ (1919 – 1933) – Vom preußischen Regierungszentrum zur Industrie- und Arbeiterstadt“ vom 31. August 2019 bis 9. Februar 2020 ein, den Wandel der Behörden- zur Industrie- und Arbeiterstadt sowie den Umbruch des Umlandes von der landwirtschaftlichen zur industriellen Flächennutzung kennen zu lernen.
Außerdem sind öffentliche Stadtführungen durch die Zollinger-Viertel sowie individuelle Gruppenführungen über das Museum Schloss Merseburg möglich.

 

Bauhaus-Werkstatt-Museum Dornburg erwacht

Die einzige Töpferei des Bauhauses, welches die alleinige externe Werkstatt des Weimarer Bauhauses und damit die letzte überhaupt erhaltene Bauhaus-Werkstatt ist, eröffnet ihre Türen im April 2019. Hier kann man das eindrucksvolle Schaffen und Leben der Bauhaus-Lehrer und ihrer Schüler auch nach 100 Jahren noch hautnah erleben.
Originale Arbeitsgeräte, wie eine Gipsdrehscheibe, an der Bogler und Lindig ihre designprägenden Modelle schufen, bieten einen einmaligen Einblick in das Wirken der Bauhaus-Werkstätten. Weiterhin wird die Töpferei im Dornburger Marstall näher beleuchtet und Bauhaus-Keramik präsentiert.

Bauhaus Wein

Zu Ehren des Jubiläums hat die Winzervereinigung Freyburg eG extra eine Edition heraus gebracht – das Werkstück Weimar. Die Reben für die beiden Weine Sauvignon Blanc und Dornfelder Rosé wachsen am Weimarer Poetenweg. Die jüngste Edition feiert ihre Premiere auf der ITB. Dort werden die Weine in der Weinlounge am Stand des Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V. ausgeschenkt.

Darüber hinaus findet man Veranstaltungen und Programme auf der offiziellen Webseite zu 100 Jahre Bauhaus unter www.bauhaus100.de

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Aktie auf facebook
Aktie auf twitter
Aktie auf pinterest
Aktie auf linkedin
Aktie auf xing

Was möchten Sie
als Nächstes tun?