Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Zeitzer monastery library

© Copyright by Vereinigte Domstifter, F. Matte

Description:

A hidden treasure reveals 1500 years of world knowledge and book art of times long past.

An incomparable treasure of knowledge rests in Zeitz: the medieval and early modern holdings of the Zeitz Abbey Library are among the oldest and most important book collections in Saxony-Anhalt. Unique is the unity of the historically grown holdings, which reveal true treasures: the fragments of the Zeitz Easter tablet from the 5th century, a Latin
A hidden treasure reveals 1500 years of world knowledge and book art of times long past.

An incomparable treasure of knowledge rests in Zeitz: the medieval and early modern holdings of the Zeitz Abbey Library are among the oldest and most important book collections in Saxony-Anhalt. Unique is the coherence of the historically grown holdings, which reveal true treasures: the fragments of the Zeitz Easter tablet from the 5th century, a Latin Old High German confession from the early 9th century or the Ptolemy manuscript from 1477 with the Zeitz world map. This "mappa mundi Cicensis" is the only medieval world map preserved in Germany. It illustrates the world view of that time, shaped by numerous mythical countries with fabulous beings. Julius Pflug, the last bishop of Naumburg, who died in 1563, donated by far the most important historical part of the library with his private library. Pflug may rightly be called Martin Luther's most important opponent. He got caught up in the maelstrom of the Reformation and was one of the first to strive - in vain - for a balance between the denominations. With almost 1,200 volumes, his library is still preserved in its original location. Here, the revolutionary developments in book history can be traced: from 400 medieval and 450 early modern manuscripts to outstandingly designed incunabula and around 30,000 prints from the 16th to 18th centuries.

The holdings of the Zeitz Abbey Library are still used for research today. However, visits are only possible within a guided tour. Selected pieces and the overwhelming diversity of the collection are explained. 
 Read more
for search purposes after prior application: Thursday 10:00 - 13:00, 14:00 - 17:00

for guided tours by appointment
  • Bad weather offer
  • for all weathers
  • for school classes
  • for individual guests
  • Suitable for seniors
  • German
  • English
  • Cash payment
Guided tour only: Adult 3 €, Reduced 2 €, Pupils 1 € plus guide fee (max. 25 pers.) 50-70 €
A9, exit Weißenfels or Naumburg;
A4, exit Gera;
by train from Leipzig and Gera,
by bike: Elsterradweg

Where:

Address:

United Cathedral Founders of Merseburg and Naumburg and the Collegiate Abbey of Zeitz

Schlosstraße 6
06712 Zeitz
Phone: +49 3445 / 2301120
E-mail: fuehrung@naumburger-dom.de
website: http://www.stiftsbibliothek-zeitz.de/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Zeitzer Stiftsbibliothek

© Copyright by Vereinigte Domstifter, F. Matte

Beschreibung:

Ein verborgener Schatz offenbart 1500 Jahre Weltwissen und Buchkunst längst vergangener Zeiten.

In Zeitz ruht ein unvergleichlicher Wissensschatz: Die mittelalterlichen und frühneuzeitlichen Bestände der Zeitzer Stiftsbibliothek gehören zu den ältesten und bedeutendsten Büchersammlungen in Sachsen-Anhalt. Einzigartig ist die Geschlossenheit der historisch gewachsenen Bestände, die wahre Kostbarkeiten offenbaren: die Fragmente der Zeitzer Ostertafel aus dem 5. Jahrhundert, eine lateinisch
Ein verborgener Schatz offenbart 1500 Jahre Weltwissen und Buchkunst längst vergangener Zeiten.

In Zeitz ruht ein unvergleichlicher Wissensschatz: Die mittelalterlichen und frühneuzeitlichen Bestände der Zeitzer Stiftsbibliothek gehören zu den ältesten und bedeutendsten Büchersammlungen in Sachsen-Anhalt. Einzigartig ist die Geschlossenheit der historisch gewachsenen Bestände, die wahre Kostbarkeiten offenbaren: die Fragmente der Zeitzer Ostertafel aus dem 5. Jahrhundert, eine lateinisch-althochdeutsche Beichte des frühen 9. Jahrhunderts oder die Ptolemaeus-Handschrift von 1477 mit der Zeitzer Weltkarte. Diese „mappa mundi Cicensis“ ist die einzige in Deutschland erhaltene mittelalterliche Weltkarte. Sie veranschaulicht die damalige Weltsicht, geprägt von zahlreichen mythischen Ländern mit fabelhaften Wesen. Julius Pflug, der letzte, 1563 verstorbenen Naumburger Bischof, stiftete mit seiner Privatbibliothek den mit Abstand bedeutendsten historischen Teilbestand der Bibliothek. Pflug darf mit Recht als der wichtigste Gegenspieler Martin Luthers bezeichnet werden. Er geriet in den Strudel des Reformationszeitalters und strebte als einer der Ersten – vergeblich – einen Ausgleich zwischen den Konfessionen an. Mit knapp 1.200 Bänden ist seine Bibliothek immer noch an ihrem ursprünglichen Standort erhalten. Hier lassen sich die revolutionären Entwicklungen der Buchgeschichte nachvollziehen: von 400 mittelalterlichen und 450 frühneuzeitlichen Handschriften über herausragend gestaltete Inkunabeln bis hin zu rund 30.000 Drucken des 16. bis 18. Jahrhunderts.

Noch heute werden die Bestände der Zeitzer Stiftsbibliothek für die Forschung genutzt. Besichtigungen sind jedoch nur innerhalb einer Führung möglich. Dabei werden ausgewählte Stücke und die überwältigende Vielfalt der Sammlung erläutert. 
 Mehr lesen
für Recherchezwecke nach Voranmeldung: Donnerstag 10:00 – 13:00 Uhr, 14:00 – 17:00 Uhr

für Führungen nach Voranmeldung
  • Schlechtwetterangebot
  • für jedes Wetter
  • für Schulklassen
  • für Individualgäste
  • Senioren geeignet
  • Deutsch
  • Englisch
Besichtigung nur mit Führung: Erwachsener 3 €, Ermäßigt 2 €, Schüler 1 € zzgl. Führungsgebühr (max. 25 Pers.) 50-70 €
A9, Abfahrt Weißenfels oder Naumburg;
A4, Abfahrt Gera;
per Bahn aus Leipzig und Gera,
mit dem Fahrrad: Elsterradweg

Wo:

Anschrift:

Vereinigte Domstifter zu Merseburg und Naumburg und des Kollegiatstifts Zeitz

Schlosstraße 6
06712 Zeitz
Telefon: +49 3445 / 2301120
E-Mail: fuehrung@naumburger-dom.de
Webseite: http://www.stiftsbibliothek-zeitz.de/

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing